On July 27th 2015, grief outpoured the nation when Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, People’s President, eminent Scientist and our dear Missile Man, collapsed while delivering a lecture at IIM Shillong. His death is an irreparable loss to India and beyond.

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam Memorial Conclave for Creating a Livable Planet was constituted in the year 2016, on the first anniversary of passage of Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, the 11th President of India. The first edition of the conclave was conducted on 26th & 27th July 2016 in Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh.

The primary aim of the conclave was to establish a continuation of Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam’s last lecture on Creating Livable Planet Earth, in which he was addressing second year students of the B-school at IIM Shillong.

In the past two edition of this conclave, various luminary speakers and thinkers have enlightened the audience with their thoughts and ideas for a better world and a stronger nation. These speakers include Shri Ram Naik (Hon’ble Governor of Uttar Pradesh), Mahaswami Sri Sri Nirmalanandanathanji of Adi Chunchunagiri Math, Nobel Laureate Shri Kailash Satyarthi, Padmashri Murugananthan Arunachalam, Param Veer Chakra Awardee Yoginder Singh Yadav. The conference is attended by young delegates who are handpicked from all over the country for their exemplary work in the nation’s service and social cause. The theme of the conference always embodies how to keep the planet livable and make it a happy place, which Dr. Kalam talked about in his final lecture.

In 2018, the special focus of the conclave was on ‘Vision 2020’ and ensuring ‘Access to Water for All’, embodying Dr. Kalam’s vision for creating a globally competitive India.

Another key aspect of this conclave is that individuals who are known for their exemplary work for the nation and society are honored with a special award dedicated to Dr. Kalam. The first edition of the conclave, awards were given to Nobel Laureate Dr. Kailash Satyarthi and Padmashree Arunachalam Muruganantham. In the second edition in 2017, the awards were given to Sri Sri Sri Nirmalanandanathanji. In 2018, this award will be given to Deendayal Research Institute for contributing to sustainable development in rural India.

Dr. Rajiv Kumar, Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog delivered the keynote lecture to the young delegates as the Chief Guest for the event. Guests of Honour Shri Desh Deepak Verma, Secretary General, Rajya Sabha and Ms. Meenakshi Lekhi, Member of Parliament, New Delhi also spoke on the role of legislature and executive to deliver sustainable development. Ms. Masooma Rizvi (Art Advisor to Dr. Kalam) also graced the occasion with their presence.

This valedictory session of the conclave was organized at the Pravasi Bharatiya Bhawan, Chanakyapuri, New Delhi on 27th July 2018 to take forward the legacy of the last lecture of Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam in which 350 delegates will be selected from all over the nation, all under the age of 35 years from varied disciplines, and each backed by the power of their ideas to create a livable planet earth.

To know more, visit www.kalamconclave.org


In the news: https://www.aninews.in/news/business/business/kalam-centre-launched-water-preservation-initiative201807301613260001/

Download the brochure: tinyurl.com/kalamlivableplanet2018

Share Your Thoughts

Start typing and press Enter to search